Yesterday I went to the 2010 Hangang Yeouido Spring Flower Festival (also see here for info) and took pictures along the 2km lane way that runs around the National Assembly Building.  Arriving in the area I began taking pictures right away with my Sigma 10-20mm lens . . . I couldn’t believe that the sky was a nice clear blue!  Awesome . . .


At the beginning of the 2km lane way there was . . . this.  ‘Interesting’ product placement . . .

I made sure to visit some of the bigger cherry blossom trees (I’ve been to the festival now 5 times so I know the area fairly well).

After that I pulled out a tripod and mounted my Canon 400D on it, and then changed lenses putting on my Canon 100mm macro lens.   There was some cold damage to the flowers sitting in massive pots at the start of the lane way, but they still looked nice to me.

This is Julianne’s favorite . . .

I really like the contrasts between the yellow and orange-red with the green bokeh background here.

This is another of my favorites because while the background blur is still fairly strong it’s just weak enough to see the light and shadow lines on the green leaves . . .

I was able to use my tripod and get these macro shots without much trouble because there weren’t many people at the festival Thursday afternoon . . . if you’re going on the weekend you might have a ‘little’ trouble, lol.

If you want to see what the crowds are like take a glance at past posts I’ve done on the cherry blossoms . . . in the 2006 pictures you can see what it looks like when the cherry blossom petals are falling off the trees, and the both posts give a sense of how insane the crowds are.

2006 Cherry Blossom Festival in Yeouido, Seoul — 2009 Cherry Blossoms COMING SOON!!!

2009 Cherry Blossoms in Yeouido, Seoul — Hangang Yeouido Spring Flower Festival

After I finished taking my macro shots I switched lenses and put on my Sigma 100-400mm telephoto lens.  I brought this lens because I remembered trying to get pictures of blossoms that were just out of range in the past.  With this lens I was able to shoot any part of the tree that had blossoms I liked . . . and it also has some nice background blur too.

Like I said, the trees are about 70% in bloom . . . I can’t wait how much bigger the blossoms are after 48 hours.  I’m going again tomorrow.

This little guy caught my attention . . . love the pink and purple dye job! Lol . . .

More blossoms . . .

I noticed a fair number of two-seater bicycles roaming around . . . I hope they ban bikes in general on the weekend–if they don’t I could see that making for some really bad person vs bike collisions.

Here are a few more shots of the blossoms . . .

Spring flowers and young love . . . I imagine the flower festival must be a popular dating event to go to for Koreans.

Time to go prep my camera gear for tomorrow.  If you see a shaved head Canadian walking around taking pictures it’s more than likely me, lol.  Julianne will be joining me later on in the afternoon cause she’s taking photography classes with Michael Hurt from Scribblings of the Metropolitician and Feetman Seoul.  Check out his blogs, and specifically the posts about his classes here, and if you’re interested you can see a description of the beginner level classes here.

I really hope there are blue skies and sunshine all day tomorrow!

J

Click here to see my ‘flower macro set‘ at flickr.

