Julianne and I headed to Cheonggye Stream to check out the 2009 Seoul Lantern Festival.  The stream runs through the center of Seoul . . . on the way there we ran into this guy.

IMG_9567

Arriving at Cheonggye Stream there was a stage set up for a concert and a really big crowd was already there….

IMG_9569

IMG_9570

At the far right top corner of this pic there are stairs going down to the water way…there were NUTS with people…

IMG_9571

We took shots from up on the roadway looking down on the stream and lanterns…

IMG_9573

IMG_9573

I’m going to go back tomorrow night. It was REALLY COLD and while I thought I’d dressed warmly enough I was still cold.

IMG_9576

Gotta love the mask on the grandfather here…

IMG_9577

IMG_9582

IMG_9582-1

The left side of the stream is packed with people because the lantern sculptures mostly face this side of the stream.

IMG_9584

More shots from up on the roadway…

IMG_9587

IMG_9588

And here’s a beautiful, hot, sexy woman I took a picture of …hehehe.

IMG_9589

Then there’s this guy….yeah, it’s me.

IMG_9591

The ball of light on the right kept flying up and down and all over in the wind….

IMG_9594

This archway was REALLY popular with people doing portraits and self-portraits….

IMG_9598

IMG_9602

I had my Speedlite 580 EXII flash with me and while I’ve used it some I’m still learning how to use it…

IMG_9613

This little guy wandered into my shot…I like the water blurring effect with his movement effect…

IMG_9620

Using a Canon 400D, Sigma 10-22mm wide angle lens, with my Speedlite 580 EXII flash I got some cool shots with the water because I set the ISO to 200….without a tripod. Tomorrow night I’m going to use my tripod and see what kind of shots I can get on 100 ISO …

IMG_9621

Nice dragons…

IMG_9630

There’s a nice surreal blurring in this shot that I like….

IMG_9634

Julianne again…this time using my Canon 50mm lens with flash…

IMG_9639

I wanted to go over by the waterfalls in the background here but I was starting to freeze….

IMG_9642

I like how my 50mm lens makes this look a bit like outer space….

IMG_9643

IMG_9646

Without a tripod not bad for trying to get the water blurring….

IMG_9649

Using the 50mm made for interesting distances from subject….I still got some decent shots I think.

IMG_9653

I really like the color saturation here.

IMG_9655

Julianne got some really nice shots of the panda on her Nikon D50…this one is with my Canon…

IMG_9656

Kangaroos…

IMG_9660

Giraffes…and more. Like I said, I’m going to go back tomorrow night and take more pics….

IMG_9662

On the way home in the subway…..

IMG_9665

Tomorrow is Suneung (Korean SATs) and I have to get up early cause I’m going to take pics and cheer for my high school guys going to take the exam…..time to go to bed cause I’m getting up at 6am…

J